Press Advisories

3. 5. 2017 19:22

From May this year, Czech Republic to chair the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe

Logo: The Council of Europe
On 19 May 2017, the Czech Republic will become the presiding country of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe. It last presided over this body in 1995. Until 15 November the Committee Chairman will be Foreign Ministry Lubomír Zaorálek.

At today's meeting, the government agreed the basic priorities of the Czech Presidency. These are the protection of the human rights of persons belonging to vulnerable or disadvantaged groups, the strengthening of the rule of law, the promotion of democracy at local and regional level and reforms in public administration, the promotion of human rights education and language skills, and cooperation and coordination with other international organisations.

The Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe, which is its executive body, consists of 47 foreign ministers. The Committee approves, among other things, the organisation’s budget, draft treaties and recommendations, and oversees the execution of judgements of the European Court of Human Rights. Cyprus is the current President of the Committee of Ministers. Denmark will take over the Presidency from the Czech Republic in November 2017.

The Council of Europe

The Council of Europe was founded in May 1949 at the instigation of Winston Churchill as an intergovernmental European institution whose main priority is the protection of human rights, the resolution of the problems of European society, the consolidation of democratic stability in Europe and the promotion of the development of European cultural identity and diversity. The European Court of Human Rights comes under the Council of Europe. Both institutions are located in Strasbourg. The Czech Republic became a member of the Council of Europe on 30 June 1993.

print article   email   facebook   twitter

Photo Gallery