Press Advisories

12. 3. 2009 12:25

10th Anniversary of the Czech Republic's membership in NATO – 60 Years of NATO

12 countries signed the North Atlantic Treaty in Washington in April 1949; work began on the treaty just after the end of World War II.

In 1948, the Treaty of Brussels was created on the creation of a Western union, and talks began between Western European countries and the United States on a possible defence system, which led to the formation of NATO.

On 12 March 1999, the Czech Republic became a member of the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation.

The documents were signed by Secretary of State Madeleine Albright for the United States, by Foreign Minister Jan Kavan for the Czech Republic, by Foreign Minister János Martonyi for Hungary, and by Foreign Minister Bronisław Geremek for Poland.

The ceremony marking the entrance of the Czech Republic, Hungary and Poland to the North Atlantic Treaty took place in the Truman Library in the American city of Independence, Missouri

print article   email   facebook   twitter

Photo gallery

Related items

Photo Gallery